Creating filtered version of banner image.


The Story of Litost

Litost is:
John Rackowski - Guitars, Bass, Drums, Piano
Matt Smith - Vocals, Guitars

Litost officially begin in late 2012 with hard rock instrumental recordings by John Rackowski from his home studio.

In 2013, the first EP titled "(d)anger" was officially released. At seven songs, the EP was an introduction to the wide range of elements to be explored in the coming years. Later that same year, the full-length follow up titled "Love and War" was released.

In the late summer of 2013, work on a new album began. "Infliction" was released on February 12, 2016 which explored further into other genres while still honoring hard rock and metal roots.

In September of 2018, writing and recording of a fourth release began. For the first time ever, John partnered up with a vocalist for a new album. The fourth album, titled “Colony” features extensive work by vocalist Matt Smith and was released April 5th, 2019.

After Colony released, John & Matt merged Litost into a duo with the two working full-time together. 

Later in 2019, John & Matt began working on a 5-song covers EP titled "Projections" which is set to release October 4th, 2019.